Coats of Arms Fiji Government
fiji flag
Press Releases & News BriefsSpeeches & FeaturesMinistries & DepartmentsCurrent EventGovernment Web LinksGovernment DirectoryAbout Fiji & Fiji FAQ's

Ministry Index

Department Index


Ministry of Local Government, Housing, Squatter Settlement & Environment

Overall the ministry is responsible for the formulation and implementation of housing, local government, urban planning and environment. The Ministry’s functions are categorised into the following programme areas: General Administration Section, Local Government, Local Government, Department of Town and Country Planning, and Environment and Squatter Resettlement Unit. The following statutory bodies come under the Ministry’s jurisdiction: The Housing Authority, Public Rental Board and the National Fire Authority.

Housing — The Housing Authority’s goal is basically to house low to middle income earners, ie those who earn ($3,500 to $16,500 per annum).

Public Rental Board — The primary objective is to provide or facilitate short-term rental housing. It focuses its activities on the management of rental estates and maintenance of buildings and grounds, assessment and collection of rents from tenants and extension of rental estates wherever appropriate.

National Fire Authority — Established under the National Fire Services Act, 1994 came into being on 1/2/95. The NFA main priority is the improvement of its services through the procurement of new fire fighting equipment, upgrading of firemen skills and establishment of volunteer fire brigades.

Local Government — This unit will ensure that municipal councils comply with financial and administrative provisions of the Local Government Act Cap 125. This Act is under review by a committee appointed by the Minister, which will closely monitor the performance of the municipal councils.

Department of Town & Country Planning — will continue to facilitate investment by promoting the development of land resources through the application of appropriate planning standards and continued revision of planning legislation.

Department of Environment — will concentrate its efforts on the following activities:

  • Complete the formulation of a new environmental protection legislation;

  • Formulate policies on Waste Management, Environment Impact Assessment (EIA) and Land and Marine resources;

  • Continue with Climate change project — Pacific Island Climate Change Assistance programme;

  • Implement the Country Programme on phasing out of Ozone Depleting Substances;

  • Review EIAs in respect of new development proposal; and

  • Implement the National Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan Project

  • Squatter Ressettlement Unit — will undertake squatter upgrading projects in the following areas: Jittu Estate, Wailea, Lakena No. 1 & 2, Navutu, Cuvu, Clopcott Street, Waidra.

    Colonel Pio Wong Minister for Local Government, Housing, Squatter Settlement & Environment

    Mr Joji Natadra Banuve, Assistant Minister

    Chief Executive Officer: Cama Tuiloma

    Office Location:
    2nd Flr, Fiji FA House, Gladstone Rd, Suva.

    Postal Address:
    PO Box 2131, Government Buildings, Suva, Fiji.

    Phone: (679) 3304364
    Fax: (679) 3303515

    Top of Page


Advanced Search
Government Who's Who
Prime Minister
Assistant Ministers
Parliament of Fiji
Department of Culture and Heritage
Fiji Law Reform Commission
Film and Television Unit
National Archives of Fiji
Information and Media Relations
Department of Communications
Department of Co-operatives
Department of Environment
Home PageSearchSitemapFeedbackContact